Council: 108th session, 11 to 14 June 2012

2012 IMO Award for Exceptional Bravery at Sea to go to Canadian and Chilean rescuers

The 2012 IMO Award for Exceptional Bravery at Sea will go to members of rescue crews from Canada and Chile for their actions in saving the lives of persons in distress at sea.
The IMO Council decided that the award will go to Sergeant Janick Gilbert (posthumously), Master Corporal Max Lahaye-Lemay and Master Corporal Marco Journeyman, crew members of the Royal Canadian Air Force’s 424 (Transport and Rescue) Squadron, Trenton, nominated by the Government of Canada; and to Able Seaman. César Flores Flores, a rescue swimmer in the aerial detachment from Puerto Montt, Fifth Naval Zone, Chilean Navy, nominated by the Government of Chile.


The Council unanimously endorsed the decision of a Panel of Judges that these were the worthy recipients of the Bravery Award for 2012, out of a total of 40 nominations received from 15 Member States and one non-governmental organization in consultative status with IMO. The Council also decided that, of the other nominees or groups of nominees, three should receive Certificates of Commendation and nine, Letters of Commendation.
Former Secretary-General Mitropoulos to get 2011 International Maritime Prize
The Council unanimously agreed to award the prestigious International Maritime Prize for 2011 to Mr. E.E. Mitropoulos, Secretary-General Emeritus of IMO, Secretary-General of the Organization from 2004 to 2011, for his significant contribution to the work of IMO during a long and distinguished career with the Organization.


Sustainable development post Rio+20 in World Maritime Day theme for 2013
The Council endorsed a proposal by IMO Secretary-General Koji Sekimizu to adopt “Sustainable Development:  IMO’s contribution beyond Rio+20” as the World Maritime Day theme for 2013.
The theme was chosen in order to focus IMO’s efforts during 2013 on carrying out the commitments to be made at the UN Conference on Sustainable Development, better known as Rio+20, being held in June 2012 in Rio de Janeiro, Brazil.


Council urges early ratification of IMO treaties to bring them into force
The Council reiterated its plea to Member Governments to give favourable consideration to ratifying those conventions not yet in force, including:

• the International Convention for the Control and Management of Ships' Ballast Water and Sediments, 2004

• the Nairobi International Convention on the Removal of Wrecks, 2007;

• the Hong Kong International Convention for the Safe and Environmentally Sound Recycling of Ships, 2009; and

• the 2010 Protocol to the International Convention on Liability and Compensation for Damage in Connection with the Carriage of Hazardous and Noxious Substances by Sea (HNS), 1996 (2010 HNS Protocol).

The Council also urged ratification of the ILO Maritime Labour Convention, 2006, which would, once in force, have a beneficial impact on the living and working conditions of seafarers, noting that only two ratifications were still needed to meet its entry-into-force requirements. 


Koji Sekimizu appointed Chancellor, WMU
The Council decided to appoint the Secretary-General of IMO, Mr. Koji Sekimizu, as Chancellor of the World Maritime University (WMU) for the two-year period from 1 July 2012 to 30 June 2014.
The Council also decided that his predecessor, Mr.  Mitropoulos, be accorded the status of "Chancellor Emeritus" of WMU.
Koji Sekimizu appointed Chairman of IMLI Governing Board
The Council decided to appoint the Secretary-General of IMO, Mr. Koji Sekimizu, as Chairman of the International Maritime Law Institute (IMLI) Governing Board, for the two-year period from 1 July 2012 to 30 June 2014.