IMO Council elects Chairman for 2012-2013 biennium

Council: 107th session, 1 December 2011

The newly elected IMO Council for 2012-2013 met on Thursday, 1 December, and re-elected Mr. Jeffrey G. Lantz (United States) as its Chairman and re-elected Mr. Dumisani Ntuli (South Africa) as its Vice-Chairman.
The Council also approved the contract of Mr. Koji Sekimizu as Secretary-General of the Organization, with effect from 1 January 2012. 
The Members of the Council, elected by the IMO Assembly, which met for its 27th session from 21 to 20 November, are:
Category (a) 10 States with the largest interest in providing international shipping services:
China, Greece, Italy, Japan, Norway, Panama, Republic of Korea, Russian Federation, United Kingdom, United States.

Category (b) 10 States with the largest interest in international seaborne trade:
Argentina, Bangladesh, Brazil, Canada, France, Germany, India, Netherlands, Spain, Sweden.

Category (c) 20 States not elected under (a) or (b) above, which have special interests in maritime transport or navigation and whose election to the Council will ensure the representation of all major geographic areas of the world:
Australia, Bahamas, Belgium, Chile, Cyprus, Denmark, Egypt, Indonesia, Jamaica, Kenya, Liberia, Malaysia, Malta, Mexico, Morocco, Philippines,  Singapore, South Africa, Thailand, Turkey.