Skip Ribbon Commands
Skip to main content

Skip Navigation LinksAction--on-wildlife-trafficking-webinar- Webinar - Accelerating action against wildlife trafficking in international maritime supply chains

Skip Navigation LinksIMO / English / About IMO / IMO Events / Webinar - Accelerating action against wildlife trafficking in international maritime supply chains

Webinar - Accelerating action against wildlife trafficking in international maritime supply chains

 


Monday, 21 September 2020 7:00-8:30am Washington D.C. • noon-1:30pm London • 2:00-3:30pm Nairobi • 7:00-8:30pm Beijing

A discussion on global wildlife trafficking through maritime transport supply chains as well as how governments, the IMO and the private sector can take action to combat this transnational organized crime.

Download the flyer here (PDF)

Presenters will:

  • provide an overview of illegal wildlife trade (IWT) in maritime transport supply chains;
  • introduce the proposal by the Government of Kenya to IMO to develop ‘Guidelines for the Prevention and Suppression of the Smuggling of Wildlife on Ships engaged in International Maritime Traffic’; and 
  • highlight challenges and solutions of the private sector to curb wildlife crime. 

Registration

Register here.

Speakers

Introductory remarks
Kitack Lim Secretary General International Maritime Organization (IMO) 

Moderator
Robert Campbell Programme Manager United for Wildlife Taskforces The Royal Foundation

Speakers
  • Nancy Karigithu, Principal Secretary, State Department for Shipping and Maritime Ministry of Transport, Infrastructure, Housing, Urban Development and Public Works, Government of Kenya 
  • Steven Broad, Executive Director, TRAFFIC 
  • Allan Jorgensen, Head of Sustainable Trade, Maersk