IMO Assembly elects new Council for 2004-2005 biennium

The Assembly of the International Maritime Organization has elected the following States to be members of its Council for the 2004-2005 biennium:

Category (a) 10 States with the largest interest in providing international shipping services: China, Greece, Italy, Japan, Norway, Panama, Republic of Korea, Russian Federation, United Kingdom, United States
Category (b) 10 other States with the largest interest in international seaborne trade: Argentina, Bangladesh, Brazil, Canada, France, Germany, India, Netherlands, Spain, Sweden
Category (c) 20 States not elected under (a) or (b) above which have special interests in maritime transport or navigation, and whose election to the Council will ensure the representation of all major geographic areas of the world: Algeria, Australia, Bahamas, Chile, Cyprus, Denmark, Egypt, Ghana, Indonesia, Malta, Mexico, Nigeria, the Philippines, Poland, Portugal, Saudi Arabia, Singapore, South Africa, Turkey, Venezuela

The Council is the Executive Organ of IMO and is responsible, under the Assembly, for supervising the work of the Organization. Between sessions of the Assembly the Council performs all the functions of the Assembly, except that of making recommendations to Governments on maritime safety and pollution prevention.

The 23rd session of the IMO Assembly is being held at its London headquarters from 24 November - 5 December.


IMO - the International Maritime Organization - is the United Nations specialized agency with responsibility for the safety of shipping and the prevention of marine pollution by ships.

Web site:

For further information please contact:
Lee Adamson, Public Information Manager on 020 7587 3153 ( or
Natasha Brown, Information Officer on 020 7587 3274 ( ).