International Maritime Prize goes to Mr. Frank Wall of the United Kingdom

Left to right:  Mr. O'Neil, Mr. and Mrs. Frank Wall The prestigious International Maritime Prize for 2002 has been awarded to Mr. Frank Wall of the United Kingdom.

Mr. William A. O'Neil, Secretary-General of the International Maritime Organization, presented the prize to Mr. Wall during a special ceremony (on Tuesday, 2 December) at IMO's London Headquarters during the Organization's 23rd Assembly session.

The International Maritime Prize is awarded annually by IMO to the individual or organization judged to have made the most significant contribution to the work and objectives of IMO. The 90th session of the IMO Council in June took the decision to award the prize to Mr. Wall in recognition of his long service to the cause of maritime safety.

Mr. Wall is Head of Shipping Policy in the United Kingdom's Department for Transport and has a long association with IMO. Among several notable career achievements, Mr. Wall was Chairman of the MSC's Maritime Security Working Group which developed in detail the comprehensive package of measures adopted by the Diplomatic Conference on Maritime Security at the end of 2002. Mr. Wall also chaired the Committee of the Whole at the Diplomatic Conference which adopted the measures.

International Maritime Prize
The International Maritime Prize consists of a sculpture in the form of a dolphin and includes a financial award. The winner of the annual prize is also invited to write a paper on a theme relating to the work of IMO. The paper is published in IMO's quarterly magazine, IMO News.

The theme of Mr. Wall's paper will be international co-operation in the investigation of maritime casualties.

Mr. Frank Wall
Mr. Wall joined the United Kingdom Department for Transport's Shipping Policy Division in 1986. He has represented the United Kingdom at IMO's Legal Committee, Council, and Assembly, and at the International Oil Pollution Compensation Fund. He currently heads one of the Department's Shipping Policy Divisions.

Previous winners
Winners of the prize since 1995:

  • 2002 - Mr. Frank Wall (United Kingdom)
  • 2001 - Mr. Giuliano Pattofatto (Italy) (posthumously)
  • 2000 - Mr. Heikki Juhani Valkonen (Finland)
  • 1999 - Mr. Ian Mills Williams (Australia)
  • 1998 - International Lifeboat Federation
  • 1997 - Dr. Gamal El-Din Ahmed Mokhtar (Egypt)
  • 1996 - Mr. T. Funder (Denmark)
  • 1995 - Mr. G. Ivanov (Russia)


IMO - the International Maritime Organization - is the United Nations specialized agency with responsibility for the safety of shipping and the prevention of marine pollution by ships.

Web site:

For further information please contact:
Lee Adamson, Senior External Relations Officer on 020 7587 3153 ( or
Natasha Brown, External Relations Officer on 020 7587 3274 ( ).