International Maritime Prize goes to Dr. Giuliano Pattofatto of Italy

The prestigious International Maritime Prize for 2001 was awarded posthumously to Dr Giuliano Pattofatto, former technical director of the Italian classification society Registro Italiano Navale.

Mr. William A. O'Neil, Secretary-General of the International Maritime Organization, presented the prize to Dr Pattofatto's widow Nella and their two sons Leone and Riccardo during a special ceremony
on Wednesday, 4 December at IMO's London Headquarters. His Excellency Signor Luigi Amaduzzi, Ambassador of Italy to the United Kingdom, attended the ceremony.

Dr Pattofatto died at his home in March 2001 after suffering a heart attack. He was 60.

In the early 1970s Mr Pattofatto began a long and distinguished participation in the work of the IMO as a member of the Italian delegation. His abilities and personality ensured he was much sought after as a chairman both of sub-committees and other groups.

After serving as Chairman of the Sub-Committee on Ship Design and Equipment from 1990 to 1993, he became Chairman of the Maritime Safety Committee in 1994. His five years in that position coincided with a period of intense regulatory activity that focused on bulk carrier safety, the aftermath of the Estonia catastrophe, and the introduction of the International Safety Management Code.

Important preparatory work was also done under his leadership for the 1994, '95 and '97 Safety of Life at Sea Conferences, which saw the emphasis of much of IMO's regulatory work change from technical to human element aspects.

His fortitude and dedication to duty were never more clearly demonstrated than when struck by a heart problem which necessitated a major operation soon after he took over the chairmanship of the MSC. He did not consider for a moment giving up this onerous work and declared himself fit for duty even before he had completely recovered.

The International Maritime Prize is awarded annually by IMO to the individual or organization judged to have made the most significant contribution to the work and objectives of IMO. The 88th session of the IMO Council in June took the decision to award the prize to Dr Pattofatto in recognition of his long service to the cause of maritime safety. The prize consists of a sculpture in the form of a dolphin.

Previous winners of the prize in recent years include: Mr. Heikki Juhani Valkonen, former Director, Maritime Safety Department, Finnish Maritime Administration (2000); Mr. Ian Mills Williams, former Manager for IMO Relations at the Australian Maritime Safety Authority (AMSA) (awarded prize for 1999); the International Lifeboat Federation (ILF) (awarded prize for 1998); Dr. Gamal El-Din A. Mokhtar of Egypt, President of the Arab Academy for Science, Technology and Maritime Transport (1997); Mr. Torkild Reedtz Funder of Denmark, former director-general of the Danish Maritime Authority (1996); and Mr. Georgy Ivanov, Permanent Representative of the Russian Federation to IMO (1995).


IMO - the International Maritime Organization - is the United Nations Specialized Agency with responsibility for the safety of shipping and the prevention of marine pollution by ships.

Web site:

For further information please contact:
Lee Adamson, Public Information Manager on 020 7587 3153 ( or
Natasha Brown, Information Officer on 020 7587 3274 (

Photographs will be available electronically by e-mail on request.