IMO Secretary-General welcomes additional Council Members as IMO Council expands to 40

IMO Secretary-General Mr. William A. O'Neil today welcomed eight additional Members onto the IMO Council following the entry into force on 7 November 2002 of the 1993 amendments to the IMO Convention which expanded the size of the Council to 40 Member States from 32.

"This enlargement will ensure that the Council better represents the interests of all 162 IMO Member States," Mr. O'Neil said.

"I am confident that the new Members will make a valuable contribution to achieving the objectives of the Organization in general and, in particular, in participating in the important decisions that the Council must make in the short term with respect to strategic planning and policies of the Organization, the implementation of reforms already decided and the proposed IMO Model Audit Scheme," he added.

The IMO Council is elected by the IMO Assembly, which consists of all Member States, for two-year terms beginning after each regular session of the Assembly.

In accordance with the IMO Convention, Council Members are elected by the IMO Assembly in three different categories. Under the 1993 Amendments, Category A consists of 10 States with the largest interest in providing international shipping services; Category B of 10 other States with the largest interest in international seaborne trade; and Category C of 20 States not elected under A or B but which have special interests in maritime transport or navigation and whose election to the Council will ensure the representation of all major geographic areas of the world.

During the 22nd IMO Assembly, held in November 2001, IMO Member States elected the following additional States to the expanded Council as soon as the 1993 amendments entered into force:

· Panama and the Republic of Korea to Category A
· Bangladesh and Spain to Category B
· Chile, Denmark, Ghana, Honduras, Kenya, Lebanon and Venezuela to Category C.

Panama and the Republic of Korea have, therefore, moved from Category C to Category A in the new Council, while Spain has moved from Category C to Category B.

The full IMO Council, as from 7 November 2002, consists of the following Member States:

· Category A: China, Greece, Italy, Japan, Norway, Panama, Republic of Korea, Russian Federation, United Kingdom, United States;
· Category B: Argentina, Bangladesh, Brazil, Canada, France, Germany, India, Netherlands, Spain, Sweden;
· Category C: Australia, Bahamas, Chile, Cyprus, Denmark, Egypt, Ghana, Honduras, Indonesia, Kenya, Lebanon, Malta, Mexico, Nigeria, The Philippines, Poland, Singapore, South Africa, Turkey, Venezuela.

The next Council meeting, at which all 40 Members will sit, will be held from 25 to 29 November 2002 at the Organization's London Headquarters.


IMO - the International Maritime Organization - is the United Nations Specialized Agency with responsibility for the safety of shipping and the prevention of marine pollution by ships.

Web site:

For further information please contact:
Lee Adamson, Public Information Manager on 020 7587 3153 ( or
Natasha Brown, Information Officer on 020 7587 3274 (