Navigate Up
Home » Media Centre » Secretary-General


Koji Sekimizu was elected Secretary-General of the Organization by the 106th session of the IMO Council in June 2011 for a four-year period beginning 1 January 2012. The election was endorsed by the IMO's Assembly at its 27th session in November 2011.

Mr. Koji Sekimizu of Japan is the seventh elected Secretary-General of the International Maritime Organization, the United Nations agency concerned with maritime safety and security and the prevention of marine pollution from ships.


 Related Links


 Senior Management Committee 2015


Back row:
Mr. J. Loldrup, Head, Executive Office of the Secretary-General and of Policy and Planning; Mr. N. Charalambous, Director, Technical Cooperation Division; Mr. Min Kyung Rae, Senior Deputy Director, Internal Oversight and Ethics Office; Mr. L.D. Barchue, Director, Department for Member State Audit and Implementation Support; Mr. S. Micallef, Director, Marine Environment Division; Mr. F.J. Kenney, Director, Legal Affairs and External Relations Division; Mr. J. Espinoza-Ferrey, Director, Administrative Division; Mr. C. Trelawny, Special Adviser to the Secretary-General on Maritime Security and Facilitation

Front row:
Mrs. O.E. O’Neil, Director, Conference Division; the Secretary-General; Mr. A. Winbow, Assistant Secretary-General/Director, Maritime Safety Division